Vegan MoFo#10 – Raspberry Tiramisu with a hint of Coconut

veganmofo2014_1

Good evening folks!
I’m just dropping in to show you a sweet little something that I made the other day…

053

Usually I do not find it hard to be vegan. Even at most festivities there’s some vegan food to be found on the menu/buffet. The only part that I’m not so happy about is that there’s usually no vegan dessert! I love desserts! Especially when they are being served later in the evening. So while the “normal” people are stuffing their faces with mousse au chocolat, warm apple strudel with vanilla icecream or tiramisu, I promise myself to make myself a vegan version of these desserts as soon as I come home.

But somehow desserts are not part of my daily cooking routine. And I don’t even crave dessert that often. So my big dessert plans are hardly ever realised. Apparently it takes a vegan month of food to finally get me into the kitchen and also make a dessert.

So today I proudly present you…. *drumroll*

058

…vegan raspberry tiramisu!

If you can get your hands on some of the summer’s last (rasp)berries, they would be great in this dish! But you can definetely use any (seasonal) fruit that you like in your tiramisu.

Ingredients:

vegan vanilla (or lemon) cake or vegan cookies (I used vanilla cake made with the simple vanilla and agave nectar cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes take over the World)

about a cup fresh (or frozen) fruit of your choice. I used a mix of mostly raspberries with some red currants.

scrapings of 1/2 vanilla bean or 1/2-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

100ml non-dairy milk

100g creamed coconut

1-2 teaspoons coconut blossom sugar (or any sweetener of your choice)

200ml vegan cream (the kind which can be whipped up), I used soyatoo

3-4 tablespoons (raw) cacao powder

about two shots of espresso

 

What to do:

(1) a day in advance: bake the cake, cook the espresso and let it cool, whip up the cream and place it in the fridge to let it firm up. Place vanilla, milk, creamed coconut and sugar into a saucepan and gently heat it until the creamed coconut has melted. Stir everything together and let the mixture cool down to room temperature.

(2) Crumble the cake (or cookies if using) in either four serving dishes or one big dish. Drizzle with the espresso. Mix the whipped cream with the coconut-vanilla mixture. Place the raspberries on top of the cake layer, top with coconut cream and let sit in the fridge overnight.

(3) Top with sifted cacao before serving.

056

Enjoy!

veganmofo2014_small

 

3 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo#10 – Raspberry Tiramisu with a hint of Coconut

Leave a Reply

