Vegan Wednesday #106 and VeganMoFo – or what I ate wednesday

veganmofo2014_1

Hello there,

I don’t think that Vegan MoFo and Vegan Wednesday are rivals. Therefore, I’ll share last week’s wednesday-eats-and-treats with you.
Since it is Vegan MoFo and you, dear reader, might be from another country than Germany: Vegan Wednesday is a little weekly blogger’s event. The idea is to blog every wednesday (or as often as possible) about the vegan food one ate. The food doesn’t have to be from that wednesday itself, but it should be some everyday food and not your sunday-three-course-dinner ๐Ÿ˜‰ The food pictures of all the participants in Vegan Wednesday are being collected by one of the lovely ladies of the Vegan Wednesday-team and put together on a pinterest board. Besides getting inspiration and cooking ideas from the other bloggers (and spending sunday afternoon drooling over the board ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), we want to show the non-vegan population that vegan food is not restrictive, only consisting of tofu, or which other prejudices people come up with. ๐Ÿ˜‰ More info (sorry, it’s in German) can be found here on Cara’s blog.

Now onto my last wednesday (which I spent on the farm), in terms of food and other food related stuff…

059

After haven gotten up almost before dawn to cut a shitload of endives for a wholesaler’s order, I really started my day with a cup of herbal tea (morning blend) and a bowl of overnight oats, topped with soy yoghurt and fresh strawberries and plums from the farm. ๐Ÿ™‚

After tha I went to harvest some beets and some of the most beautiful beans…

016

024

…and I met a new little friend

020

But then I heard the call for the coffee break and quickly made my way back to the house, because I knew that Renee had made a vegan plum cake the night before…

047

…which was utterly delicious and which we were able to enjoy outside in the sun, after weeks of quite some rain and pretty low temperatures for August…

011

054

can you guess what type of berries Renee sprinkled over the cake?

040

After the coffee I got to pick some more beans and started weeding the carrots until it suddenly was time for lunch again.

For lunch the Dutch usually eat bread. Typically with cheese or meat. Or a sweet variation with peanut butter or chocolate sprinkles or both ๐Ÿ˜‰ My sandwich habits are very “undutch” I would say. But I’m not Dutch anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I had a sandwich with tomato spread (from my favorite brand “Zwergenwiese), avocado slices, oven-baked aubergine and bell pepper, mayonaise and lettuce.

026

013

And another one with this gorgeous homemade beet-spread (recipe to be found on the lovely dishingupthedirt.com):

032

The afternoon we spent harvesting the last garlic.

041

043

And with our afternoon-tea we had some leftover zucchini-cake that I had baked and of course some fresh plums…

061

Renee and one of the wwoofers threw together a very good and satisfying dinner of brown rice-soy bean patties, oven-roasted veggies and a huge salad for us.

062

And of course we had some sweet farmfresh fruits for dessert.

019

What did you guys have on your vegan wednesday? Maybe you’d like to share it in the comments!

Ciao!

Judith

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Wednesday #106 and VeganMoFo – or what I ate wednesday

  1. What a beautiful day of food! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the farm pictures (snail!) as well as the cake and meals. The vegan Wednesday event sounds fun too. And I kind of agree with you about Dutch lunch habits. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

