Happy lazy Sunday and my go-to fruit-cake for fresh summer berries

057

Hallo and a happy Sunday to you!

Since I’ve spent the majority of last week in bed with a nasty flu or something and most of the food I’d eaten straight going out the way it came in, I don’t have that much to share culinary-wise. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But as it is Sunday and it is pretty stormy outside, I stayed mostly inside all day (except for a nice brief run in the morning, when it was still sunny) and baked a little something.

As almost always this time of the year I hit the organic farmer’s market on Saturday, on my way back home from work. I really don’t envy all those people going on vacation these days. Summer is the best time to stay at home when you live in the northern hemisphere: The weather is better than most time of the year (unless you love the colder seasons), people are more relaxed, there are little festivals and festivities everywhere and most importantly all the vegetable produce is abundant and much cheaper thanย  the rest of the year! And the best part is all the delicious fruit that is available now!

I’m really not the type of person who likes “shopping”. Even in my wildest dreams it would never occur to me to go “shopping” just for fun. I always find much more important (and in my eyes worthwhile) things to do instead of going into town and buying stuff. I tend to avoid buying new stuff as long as possible, until I really need that new pair of shoes/shampoo/light bulb/bell for my bike. There is only one exception and that is buying (organic!) food. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So whenever I leave the farmer’s market my bike-bags are filled to the top, there probably is a big bunch of greens on my carrier and another bag under my arm, with the more delicate fruits or veg. I cycle very slowly towards home. Fearing with every bump in the road to crush any of my precious little gems.

As our fridge has is not a huge one I always look for quick and easy ways to use up the produce I bought. And since I like a piece of cake on a Sunday afternoon (very traditional German, I know) I often turn to the following recipe for “summer fruit buckle cake“, which is to be found in the amazing “Vegan Pie in the Sky” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.
This cake is kind of how I remember many German cakes. It’s moist, “cakey” (haha) and packs a lot of fruit. This type of cake also travels well and you can use any seasonal fruit you have on hand. Win-win, if you ask me… ๐Ÿ˜‰

I had a lot of red currants and red gooseberries on my hands. So that is the fruit, that I used this time. But I’ve also made the cake with peaches & raspberries and rhubarb before (not all together though…).

You’ll need:

3/4 cup almonds or 2/3 cup almond flour

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour ( I like to use 1 cup whole spelt flour and 1/2 cup light spelt flour instead, to make the cake more nutritious)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom

1 teaspoon pure vanilla (the dry black stuff)

1 cup soy milk (or any milk of choice, I for instance used oat milk. I guess almond would taste pretty great aswell)

2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sucanat or coconut blossom sugar or palmsugar (or regular sugar, if you prefer that)

1/3 cup mild oil (I use sunflower oil, but canola could also be a good choice)

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, if you only have the liquid stuff, otherwise omit

for the topping:

10 apricots or small ripe plums or 4-5 medium-sized peaches or about 1 – 1 1/2 pounds stone fruit in total or 2 1/2 to 3 cups summer berries

1 teaspoon – 1 tablespoon sugar (depending on how sweet you like your cake)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

What to do:

1. lightly grease and flour a 26cm-sprinform pan or simply line it with parchment paper.

2. if you don’t have any almond flour on hand, you can make it yourself by blending the almonds in a blender or food processor into a fine meal. Then combine it with the other dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. For a finer cake structure sift the other dry ingredients into the bowl.

3. I like to use a large measuring cup for the liquid ingredients. First stir together soy milk and vinegar and give it a moment to curdle (actually I never notice it curdling, but it says so in the original recipe…). Then stir in sugar and the rest of the liquid ingredients.

4. Mix the sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Prepare the fruit, by pitting the stone fruits (if using) and slicing the bigger fruits to about 1-2cm.

5. create a well in the center of the dry ingredients, pour in the liquid ingredients and gently stir with a wire wisk or wooden spoon just until the batter comes together; a few lumps are ok. If using summer berries, gently fold 2 cups of them into the batter.

Pour the batter into your prepared cake pan. If using stone fruit, arrange the fruit slices in a (spiral) pattern on top of the cake. Sprinkle with the cinnamon-sugar mix and bake on the center rack of your oven for 50-60 minutes (no need to preheat your oven, it only wastes energy) or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with a few moist crumbs (but no wet batter!).
When done, remove from your oven and let the cake cool on a cooling rack for at least 20 minutes, before you remove the cake from the pan.

Serve warm or at room temperature (maybe with a little vegan vanilla ice cream on the side…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

