Vegan Wednesday #93 – strawberry farming edition

wednesdayfinalrundohne_transparent

Hello again to another VeganWednesday!

This week Regina of the eclectic blog mucveg.blogspot.de will collect our posts and she’s already looking forward to lots of strawberry and asparagus pictures. Let’s see what we have on offer for her…

038

Well, since I spent my wednesday, as pretty much always these days, at my biodynamic internship farm, I had the pleasure and the opportunity to spend a lot of time around these beautiful little gems… πŸ˜‰

We got up pretty early that morning to cut a big order of lettuce. When I stepped out of the cabin the first thing I saw was something bright and yellow…

051

…the female flower on one of the many courgette plants, wide open. Did you know that the female flowers of the courgette plants produce the courgette fruits? And that they have to be pollinated by the male flowers (which grow on the same plant) in order to produce “real” courgette fruits? I didn’t. But that was one of the things I learned on wednesday.

When I made my way towards the lettuce, the farm still looked like this:

047

After lettuce cutting, we gathered for breakfast and I had…

053

these overnight oats, which are somewhere there under the rice milk. Topped with farmfresh fruits (except for the banana, of course).

The day before wednesday I had spent most of the afternoon in the cherry orchard, balancing on a step ladder trying to pick the ripe and juicy cherries.

004

Unfortunatley last week’s heavy rains have made many cherries burst open, so after the picking a lot of sorting had to be done. Luckily we get to eat the cherries which can’t be sold anymore πŸ™‚

I think, after breakfast I went strawberry picking, because the shop was open in the afternoon and the people are crazy about the strawberries (and justifiably so!).

During our coffeebreak we had some bananacake with a little too much baking soda in it, so we topped it with “aged” ground cherry and red currant jam (Physalis in German) from 2010 …

057

… and obviously some fresh strawberries πŸ™‚

It’s weird how I can hardly remember what else I did that morning… oh yeah, I think I also harvested some spinach and some more endives.

For lunch I had…

060

…more strawberries! πŸ˜€ But this time on top of some rye-sourdough bread with peanut butter and banana. Such a heavenly combination!
062

I also had some “using up-leftovers-of-my-fridge” salad πŸ˜‰ It had massaged lacinato kale, shredded carrots, radishes, cooked Einkorn (an old grain, related to wheat), sprouted mung beans, shredded parsley, pumpkin seeds and thinly sliced nectarine in it. The dressing was a very simple mix of lemon juice, olive oil, salt&pepper.

Apart from strawberries, they grow more berry varieties at my internship farm. Gooseberries, Raspberries, Blackberries, Ground Cherries and Red, White and Black Currants. Oh, and they have a bush of Goji berries. I’m very curious how those turn out. Anyway, the currants already look like this:

034

So I spent a big part of the afternoon (together with a co-worker) putting a net over all the red currant bushes, in order to prevent them from being eaten by the many birds that live on the farm grounds.

We also spent some time, sitting in between the carrot ridges, picking weeds. Yes people, this is how small-scale biodynamic farming works: Lots of manual labour. πŸ˜‰

043

Since my farmers were still busy with the shop, I cooked dinner for us. We had:

065

Simple boiled potatoes (Agria). A curry of some sorts, made from overripe tomatoes, mini courgettes, capsicums and onion. A side of cooked red lentils and a big green salad made of romaine lettuce, radishes, chickweed (that I picked while we were weeding between the carrots) and some more tomatoes.

And while we were having dinner, some really heavy rain poured down on the farm…

Which was not good for the strawberries, cherries and lettuce… Also, the soil had still been pretty moist from last week’s rainfalls. Well, we’ll see what comes from this. Keep your fingers crossed that the berries are robust and don’t get moldy from all the wetness!

Have a lovely weekend!

P.S. By the way, since we were talking strawberries… I enjoyed this creamy raw chocolate strawberry milkshake while writing this post. The recipe can be found at greenkitchenstories.com.

IMG_20140606_173758

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Wednesday #93 – strawberry farming edition

  1. wow what an interesting post! i did know that the female flowers only produce the zucchini-fruit. but i don’t know if you can cut of the flower to eat it while the fruit is not fully grown yet. do you know that?

    • Hi Regina,
      sorry for my late reply! I’m no expert on the whole flower-thing. But from what I noticed so far I would say that it’s no problem to cut off the flower once a fruit is formed. From what I understood the flower has to be pollinated in order to form a fruit, but once the fruit is formed I would say that the flower is no longer necessary. But I might be mistaken in this point. I’ll look further into it and share the results with you.
      greetz, j

Leave a Reply

