Red Lentil Hummus

001

Hi there!

It’s been a while. I know. Things are pretty busy around here and I spend hardly any time at my desk anymore. Which I consider as a good thing. Only problem is that I cook and photograph food, but don’t share these little creations here anymore. Another problem is that I don’t answer my emails. But aside from that I enjoy not being stuck behind my computer anymore, all day long 🙂

My food/ kitchen creations lately have been less labour intensive either. But even with less time on my hands I try to make sure that my meals are well composed and contain all the necessary building blocks of a balanced diet. So usually I end up with something like this: a cooked or sprouted grain (for the carbohydrates), (raw) veggies and greens, a source of healthy fat and some protein.
So for example my meals often look like this:

012

mâche lettuce, red lentil hummus, sambal roasted potatoes and a salad of raw purple cabbage, orange and carrots, topped with fresh dill, lemony mustard dressing and walnuts.

018

again mâche lettuce, shredded beets, carrots and apple, topped (again) with fresh dill (I looooove dill) and some sunflower seeds and pepitas with a side of tempeh, panfried in coconut oil and tossed with a little tamari. This was a bit “light” on the carbohydrates, but I I already had quite some with the other meals that day.

048

oven-roasted green asparagus and potatoes (with rosemary) with a salad of cooked brown rice, radishes, shredded purple cabbage, micro greens, apple, fresh parsley, sunflower seeds and pepitas.

I noticed that I often tend to forget the protein component. Read more about the importance of adding enough protein to your diet on this lovely blog (bonzaiaphrodite.com). When I think of protein I instantly think of beans and lentils. My problem with these guys is that they need some prep-time. Of course, you could also buy them in glass jars or tins. Already cooked and ready to use. But I personally don’t like the stuff from the tins and jars. So I buy my pulses in dried form, soak them (the beans, I mean) overnight/24h and cook them with my pressure cooker. Since I don’t spend that much time at home, I do this kind of stuff in the weekend. I cook up a big batch of beans and freeze them in smaller portions. That way, I can easily warm a small portion and toss the beanies into whatever I have on my plate. I almost always find them a great addition to salads.

Another great way of eating more pulses is making hummus. It’s not only delish, it’s also an easy way to snack on some protein-rich food throughout the day, when you’re on the road.

My issue with hummus is, that I always forget to soak/cook/thaw the chickpeas in advance. So I came up with this red lentil hummus, which can be prepared in a whim, no presoaking/thawing necessary.

Red Lentil Hummus

Ingredients:

1/2 cup dried red lentils (the red lentils available at my local organic food store are already halved, so the cooking time is pretty short (only 5-7 minutes after the water has come to a boil), cooked in about 1 cup of water

4 tablespoons good quality olive oil (I like extra virgin, unfiltered)

juice of half a lemon (+ the zest if you prefer a more lemony hummus)

2-3 sundried tomatoes (soaked in warm water to soften)  (optional) or a tablespoon of tomato paste

1 clove of garlic

1-2 tablespoons tahini

3/4 teaspoons ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

cayenne pepper

(more chili pepper if you prefer a spicier hummus or some smoked paprika for a more smokey flavor)

cinnamon (optional, but I love it in hummus. and in pretty much everything *lol*)

sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

fresh herbs, such as flat-leaf parsley and coriander (some mint could be nice aswell, if you’re into that kinda stuff, but be careful not to use too much of it. it can easily overpower the other flavors)

004

“Directions” 😉

Simply blend all the ingredients together, using an immersion blender or a food processor. Adjust the spices to your liking and enjoy with some crackers, veggie sticks, in a wrap or…

007

… like this in some cabbage leaf boats, topped with fresh veggies and avocado. yum. 🙂

Have a great week!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Red Lentil Hummus

Leave a Reply

