Shrove Tuesday or Pancake Day

023

Hello there,

Since I saw pictures of pancake stacks and the slogan “Pancake Day” popping up in the (food-) blogosphere and on instagram a lot lately, I first made a batch of vegan pancakes and then did some research
Apparently “Pancake Day” is what we Germans know as “Fetter Dienstag” (Shrove Tuesday), which is the day preceding Ash Wednesday (Aschermittwoch), the day that marks the end to Carnival season. Where Lilith and I come from, Carnival does not have a huge tradition. We don’t even call it “Karneval” but “Fasching”, which comes from “Fasnacht”, I guess. Anyway, living and studying in Aachen for a few years (I think it were four…), taught me quite a bit about Karneval. It’s still not my cup of tea, but it sure can be fun. I think my nature is just too nordish and “unterkühlt” 😉 (introvert).

So let’s get back to Pancake Day/Shrove Tuesday (wofür ich mich dagegen sehr wohl erwärmen kann). Since “Aschermittwoch” marks the end of Carnival and the beginning of “Fastenzeit” (fasting), Shrove Tuesday is being used to overindulge in the foods that one sacrifices during fasting. In several countries this festivity involves the consumption of especially fatty (and sweet) foods, either to use up the fat and sugar in the house before fasting or to indulge in the food that one has to abstain from until Easter. According to Wikipedia, Shrove Tuesday is known as Pancake Day in the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zeeland and Canada, because … well you can guess why 😉

021

Pancakes are one of my favorite foods. For me, it could be pancake day, much more often 😉 Actually, I could never imagine becoming vegan, until I made my first batch of vegan pancakes and found them to be even better than the “traditional” ones, with eggs and cow’s milk.

Enough of the talking. Here’s my wholesome pancake recipe, which makes for a filling breakfast, lunch, dinner, or mid-afternoon snack for two people (of course depending on your appetite. I can eat a whole batch of these, even though not in one sitting…).

You need:

1/2 cup whole spelt flour

1/2 cup buckwheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 chia egg (= 1 tablespoon chia seeds, thouroughly mixed with 3 tablespoons water; refrigerated until it tourned into jelly)

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla

1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)

1/8 teaspoon sea salt

1 cup plant milk

2 tablespoons mild tasting oil (I like to use sunflower oil here)

1 tablespoon agave syrup (or another liquid sweetener of your choice, or just leave out the sweetener)

 

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients. I like to use a wire whisk for this.

2. Make a little mold in the flour mixture and add the liquid ingredients into it. Now slowly but thoroughly stir together the ingredients until a thick but even batter forms.

3. Let the batter rest for 5 minutes.

4. Preheat a skillet. Grease it with some coconut oil and cook your pancakes over medium heat.

Since the batter is quite thick and sticky, I like to use an icecream scoop to put some batter onto my skillet. I also don’t make the pancakes very big. Just about 15cm in diameter. It is crucial to just flip the pancakes when the upper part already looks a bit dry and little airholes have formed.

I enjoyed mine with homemade applesauce and lots of maple syrup 🙂

026

027

Happy Pancake Day!

One thought on “Shrove Tuesday or Pancake Day

  1. Pingback: Vegan Wednesday #85 | laverdeconnection

Leave a Reply

