Das Wort zum Sonntag – A word on Sunday… about vegan choices

IMG_20140221_135949

Hallo!

Do you feel spring coming aswell?

I’m so happy to have the day off today. Even though our neighbour’s little kiddo prevented us from sleeping really long, I very much enjoyed to not be woken by my alarm at quarter to six and I enjoyed even more that I could simply stay in bed until my growling stomach told me to finally get up and have breakfast πŸ˜‰
Last week on sunday we hosted a little (vegan) brunch, because my man turned another year older. Since I’m vegan and he’s vegetarian, but eating an almost vegan diet, the brunch was all vegan. But the friends of us are mostly vegetarian. So here’s the thing: I kind of felt a little bad, when I couldn’t offer them any cow’s milk for their coffee. It wasn’t that I hadn’t thought about this beforehand. But I had decided to not buy any animal milk. First of all, I simply couldn’t buy any milk without thinking of the little calves that are being separated from their mothers almost right after being born. Secondly, I thought buying a whole litre of milk so that a few people can put a little bit of it into their coffee is a bit exaggerated. And we would be stuck with the leftovers, which none of us would like to consume. which would make it even worse, since some wonderful milk, that was destined for a little calf, would kind of be wasted, cause we wouldn’t enjoy using it.

085

So far, my decision to not buy any milk, feels right. But some people asked for “real” milk instead of soy- or almond milk and I felt like a bad host, because I couldn’t offer them any. Even worse, I felt like I was forcing my lifestyle/my dietary decisions on them, because I didn’t leave them any choice but to use plant milk or none. Which started me thinking about how I feel about these choices when being a guest in somebody else’s place. On the one hand I personally am always very happy when other people have been so thoughtful to provide some vegan choices to me, even though they themselves usually eat (and drink) in a different way. So shouldn’t I as a vegan also provide at least some vegetarian choices for my guests aswell? On the other hand, if I think about it, how often have I had my coffee just black, because there was no vegan milk to choose? And does being a guest not also involve to adapt to your host’s preferances as well?

And then there also is this thing, that as a vegan around omnivores it always feels like we have to prove that our lifestyle doesn’t prevent us from enjoying life and having tasty food aswell. At least I often feel like having to prove that. Therefore, hosting a brunch is not only a nice social thing for me (I do love to prepare food for other people), but also part of “my mission” as a vegan, to demonstrate that living a vegan life does not mean you cannot enjoy brunch.
To make things clear: As far as I know, I’m not one of these annoying people who constantly try to convince other people that their dietary choices are the right ones. I hardly ever question other people’s lifestyle choices, because I think that everybody knows for themselves what is best for them. The crux is of course, that doing what feels best for ourselves does often affect other living beings aswell and probably in a negative way. Hence, my guests had to go with the soy milk… πŸ˜‰

In general, I only try to be a good example, buy living my vegan life, being healthy, happy and most importantly of all: by enjoying good vegan food. I just want to show that “another dinner is possible” πŸ˜‰ Is this weird?

Anyway, after so much pondering about being vegan, vegan choices and milk I want to share a refreshing and delicious smoothie with you guys πŸ˜‰

005

I made this smoothie yesterday when I got home from work (where I had had waaaay too much coffee all morning) and I was craving something fresh and green.

This is what went into it:

1 banana, peeled

1 orange, peeled

1/2 cup cashew nuts, soaked overnight & drained

a few frozen strawberries (raspberries might be nice aswell)
water or any milk of choice to thin

a big handful fresh spinach

a pinch pure vanilla

Put everything into your blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy while sitting on your windowsill holding your face towards the sun (optional) πŸ˜‰

003

004

Happy Sunday!

IMG_20140221_135940

Leave a Reply

