Vegan Wednesday #78

Vegan Wednesday.picx

Good afternoon everyone!

This week Petzi of the blog “From Veggie to Vegan” collects our Vegan Wednesday pictures for the pinterest board.

Since I still have to clean up our appartment and I also want to squeeze in a little home yoga session, here a quick VeganWednesday overview:

Lately, I haven’t always been feeling very well. I cannot say whether it is because of general tiredness and exhaustion or just some winter blues causing the former. Anyway, to give myself an extra boost in the mornings one of my go-to-breakfasts for additional energy is this oats and raw cacao-mix:

090

I make it by mixing 1/3 cup of rolled oats, 1 Tbsp chia seeds, 1 Tbsp flax seeds, about 1/2 tsp maca powder, 1 1/2 Tbsp raw cacao powder, some date pasta or maple syrup (or a mashed banana) and some cinnamon, vanilla and cardamome with oat- or almond milk (just as much as to reach desired consistency).

069

072

076

078

I pour this mixture in a glass jar and take it with me to work (or school) for breakfast. I like it topped with some fresh fruit, nuts and coconut flakes. The inspiration for this breakfast comes from the lovely Luise of GreenKitchenStories.

080

Besides loving something chocolately in the morning (after having had my usual bigass green smoothie), I like that raw cacao is rich in:

“calcium, zinc, iron, copper, sulfur, and potassium. Cacao contains many chemicals that enhance physical and mental well-being, including alkaloids, proteins, magnesium, beta-carotene, leucine, linoleic acid, lipase, lysine, and some neurotransmitters such as dopamine and anandamide. Holy cow – superfood!” (Source)

Sure, raw cacao can be a bit pricey and its health benefits are being contested, but I really like its taste and I think if it can even give me more (extra nutrition) than a delicious breakfast I’m willing to pay a few extra euros.

Mid-morning I also had a slice of sourdough spelt-raisin&nut bread with coconut oil, peanut butter, cinnamon and some maple syrup.

060

When I got home from work I munched on some orange…

023

027

…while preparing this soy-free vegan scramble for lunch:

008

006

Besides being a quick and satisfying meal, it’s also great to use up all kinds of veggies that have been hanging around in your fridge for almost too long 😉 My scramble contained some leftover boiled potato, 1/3 zucchini, a tomato, some mushrooms, onion and some limp spinach. You can find the recipe on this beautiful blog.

This Wednesday I was so tired after work that I spent almost all afternoon lying on my sofa, listening to music… and totally missed my yoga class because I fell asleep! *duh* When I woke up again, I just dragged myself into the kitchen to prepare Thursday’s breakfast and then finally went to bed. So this dish (which could be either lunch or dinner) has to stand in for Wednesday’s dinner, that I missed out on.

030

It’s massaged kale, topped with oven-baked butternut squash, smokey tempeh, pomegranate seeds and a simple tahini-dressing. I enjoyed it with a side of fresh sourdough spelt-buckwheat bread with coriander-hummus and z’atar on top.
042

046

 

Until next time! Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Vegan Wednesday #78

    • Oha! Ich hoffe dein Bildschirm, bzw. deine Zähne sind heile geblieben! 😉 Aber vielen Dank für das Kompliment 🙂 Nun muss ich mir mal anschauen was dieser liebster-award ist… 😉
      ganz lieber gruß,
      j

  1. Beautiful pictures of great food! Never mind that I just ate: your photos are making me hungry. Especially the scramble because I’ve been on a chickpea flour kick lately usually using it in dumplings but your lunch is an awesome idea, too. As is the kale salad – so pretty!

Leave a Reply

