Vegan MoFo #6: Quiche Lorraine

mofo2013_banner

A wonderful day to all of you!

Did you notice Judith’s Soupe recipe already? I just loved it as last weekend was once more pretty sunny and warm and the cold soup meant such a refreshment just after my work. But since it got very autumnally the last three days I now prefer more the warm and spicy kinds of dishes. And also I really got into the mood for the seasonal changes as well as for all the nice seasonal goods of nature this time of the year brings in. Watching the last bees, butterflies and wasps flittering through the air and admiring the fresh green apples hanging like jewels in the trees while I walk along the wet streets or enjoy the last warm sunbeams in small parks, wrapped up in my warmer cozy clothes – I just love the autumn!

einsleft

My inspiration for today’s recipe I took not only by the seasonal changes but also from last sunday’s afterwork brunch, I had with friends of mine on the rooftop of the house-project some of them live in. 

einsright

dreiright

There are 11 persons living in the community and I think nearly everyone of them took part in preparing something for the brunch-buffet as well as most of the guests contributed homemade goodies. It was really brilliant! On each pot or pan was a little note if it was vegan or otherwise vegetarian, and everything I had the chance to try was incredibly delicious. But the best of it was surely a dish of vegan scrambled eggs that inspired me to create or veganize a really traditional egg-dish, like the scrambled eggs but according to or MoFo theme France and the seasonal fruits and vegetables I could get my hands on…

vierright

vierleft

Tatatataaa…Quiche lorraine

Ingredients:

 for the crust (recipe from the Veganomicon, by Terry Hope Romero and Isa Chandra Moskowitz; page 262 “basic single pastry crust)

1 ½ cups flour (I used wholegrain wheatflour)
1 tablespoon sugar (but as it is a savoury “cake” we’re baking I reduced it to a teaspoon)
½ teaspoon salt (I increased it to 1 teaspoon)
¼ teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup cold nonhydrogenated vegan shortening (you can use cold-processed magarine or native coconut-oil here)
¼ cup cold water (plus maybe an additional one or two)
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

 for the filling

 fake egg-cheese-sauce (which is my own new invention 🙂 but I think surely someone else figured this out before me if you dig deep enough in the wides of the internet)
100ml non-diary cream or milk (handwarm)
50-75ml mineral water (if you use non-diary milk put in 50ml, if you use non-diary cream put in the 75ml)
2 tablespoons soy-flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon sugar
¼ cube of fresh yeast

fünfright

 sautéed vegetables
(you can of course use what you like, but as I tried to make it as much fake
Quiche Lorraine as I remembered it to be I chose the following ingredients)
some native oil (1-2 tablespoons)
2 leaves mangold, stems sliced and leaves torn into straps
2 big or 6 small tomatoes, cut into small pieces
1 small onion, minced
½ red capsicum cut into little bars

 later added to the egg-cheese-sauce and vegetables
3 Medjool dates, cut into small pieces
100g smoked tofu, diced
1 teaspoon agave syrup
fresh herbs like rosemary, basil, parsley, chive and savory
salt and fresh ground black pepper

Preparation:

  1. Combine in a bowl flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Add the shortening by teaspoons and cut it into the flour after each portion. When all shortening is worked into the dough it should be crumbly and pebbly.

  2. Combine the vinegar with ¼ cup of the cold-water and add the mixture to the dough in three batches, gently mixing it into the dough with a fork, until it holds together when pinched. If need be, add up to 2 tablespoons more water.

  3. Gather the dough into a ball and knead gently a few times until it just holds together.

  4. Sprinkle a clean surface with flour and flatten the ball into a disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. The dough should stay really cold till right before baking to develop a good crunchy crust, so I throw everything that will later touch the dough into the freezer: the pan as well as the rolling pin.

  5. In another mixing bowl combine mineral water, salt and sugar with the yeast (crumbled in by little pieces) and with the handwarm non-diary cream or milk by stirring it until the yeast dissolves in the mixture. Set aside in a warm place for1 hour.

  6. Add herbs, agave syrup, smoked tofu, dates, and salt and pepper of taste to the yeast-mixture and stirr gently. It should now be pretty bubbly by the working yeast.

  7. Sauté the vegetables by beginning with heating the oil and throwing in the onions. After 2 minutes add the capsicum, another 2 or 3 minutes later the mangold and tomatoes. Set aside after the mangold folds in.

  8. Preheat your oven to 350°F/180°Celsius. Roll out the crust dough between two parchment papers into a flat disk that fits in your baking pan (8inch/20centimeters). Lift the parchment paper and flip the dough into the pie plate. Trim the edges and press with the tines of a fork to get pretty edges or pinch the circumference with your thumb and forefinger as I did. Cover with aluminum foil and pre-bake the crust for 15 minutes.

  9. Remove the crust from the oven and spoon in the fillings alternating between the fake cheese-egg-sauce and the sautéed vegetables. Sprinkle with some pinches of salt and pepper and some rosemary.

  10. Bake for 45 minutes and let cool for 20 minutes minimum before serving.

You can enjoy this dish warm or at room temperature, so it is perfect as a contribution to a (brunch-)buffet or for any other occasion. You can garnish it with soy-yoghurt or soy-curd (a recipe suggestion you can find here). I myself added also ½ an apple to the filling, I left it out here because I thought it wasn’t fitting perfectly into a so-to-be “real-fake” Quiche Lorraine, although it was delicious. I also think it would be great with upcoming seasonal vegetables such as pumpkins!

sechsleft

sechsright

I hope you enjoy this meal and your first autumn-days as much as I do!
My best wishes,
Lilith

Leave a Reply

